Posted by: martha sue | June 18, 2017

A tribute to my father…

My father passed away in October of 1996 – he was 86. He was the longtime editor and publisher of the Manson Journal – a weekly newspaper in Manson, Iowa. He owned and operated the paper for over 40 years and sold the paper in 1986. We have been purging lots of “stuff” that has been collecting dust in our home this summer. I found a box that contained bank statements for my aunt (dad’s sister) and my dad. In the box were a few copies of this article from the Calhoun County Journal – Herald. The current editor, Ron Sturgis, wrote the following tribute to my father upon learning of his death… Since it is Father’s Day, I thought it would be appropriate to share it.

“Saying Goodbye” by Ron Sturgis

Lloyd E Jones

The world lost a brilliant man of letters on Friday, October 25, with the passing of former Manson Journal editor and publisher, Lloyd E Jones.

I first met Lloyd twenty-four Novembers ago on a cold and rainy Saturday afternoon. It was my first visit to Manson and I was rather nervous as I drove down Main Street looking for the Journal office that was located on the corner now occupied by Jamboree Foods. I had come for a job interview and I had come prepared. I was slicked up, dressed up and anxious as a chain smoker fresh out of smokes. Lloyd, who never minced anything, who preferred everything straight out of the can, hired me within the first five minutes and I was sitting at the linotype the sixth, punching out letters for the inauguration of many articles I was to set for the paper. That was the beginning of a life-changing journey for me and I’ve been with this newspaper ever since.

Lloyd was a boss, a friend, a tough guy and a softie. But, most of all, Lloyd was an educator through and through and I learned so very, very much from him.

To say Lloyd was intelligent would be an understatement.  It would be like saying a crimson sunset was nice or that a full harvest moon was luminary.  The man was downright brilliant.  He knew more words, long words, short words and medium words.  He knew words must of us had never heard before and he knew how to use them.

Now, some people are tough guys.  They throw their weight around and they intimidate by force.  Lloyd, on the other hand, was a heavyweight when it came to cutting you down to size and putting you in your place.  And, he could do it with such ease and with such a capacious choice of words that you actually felt good about yourself.  His vocabulary was like a foreign language, like a cactus in a snowstorm, a riverboat in Lizard Creek.

If there ever was an individual who epitomized Manson, Lloyd would be the guy.  For over forty years as editor and publisher of the Journal, Lloyd was Manson.  Its pulse, its heart and even its soul.  He stood for all things bright and beautiful, all things great and small.  He stood for all truths and hated falsehoods.  He was a voracious writer of wit and wisdoms.  He was country and he was city.  He was messy and tidy and all of those things. He was crusty and dusty and rusty and wise. He was gentle and tough and a time capsule of knowledge. He knew Manson, he was Manson and he loved Manson.

He was Lloyd to some, Jones to others. He was Editor, Preacher, Father, Husband, Boss, Teacher, Kiwanian, Library Trustee and for those lucky like me, he was Mentor and Friend.

Lloyd leaves a legacy that will live in Manson for years to come. He moved away from this community in 1986 and, since his departure, the lights have been a little dimmer and the horizon a little farther away. Though sad to think of him now being gone forever, he will never be forgotten.

Farewell’s too short a word
with which to say goodbye.
So instead I think I’d rather try to
and find a word more meaningful, more true.
like “auf Wiedersehen” or
maybe like “adieu.”
But better yet and better still
there’s one thing not so wordy.
He finished all his writings
with the editing phrase of -30-

Leave a Reply

Categories

